Is there a little bit of ‘you’ in your characters?

I was just pondering the blurbs I’ve written, elevator pitches I’ve memorized in case I ever get the chance to use them, etc, when I started thinking about my characters.

When I create a character, I often take a little piece of myself and wedge it in there, whether it’s a personality trait, mannerism, or simply their take on life.  Now, granted, I figure my characters turned out much more suave and interesting than I consider myself to be, but the point is still there.  I know of an author who’s used family member’s names in her various books, and I’ve sone something similar, though to a much lesser extent.

I’m just curious about how much of themselves other writers put into their characters…

Leave a Reply

