Just did my first book review on Goodreads

Little BrotherLittle Brother by Cory Doctorow
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Great book! The author put his knowledge of the tech industry to good use, filling the book with plenty of computer jargon and terms while making sure to explain them well enough that even computer-illiterate parents could probably keep up. Being a computer nerd myself, I found some of the ideas and possibilities very exciting, and checked out a number of the items in the appendix in the back. I would recommend it for kids in high school and not lower, based on some sexual content (not graphic or gratuitous, but enough to force me to consider what I’ll say when I have ‘the talk’ with my own oldest son). It does fit into the story, though, so it’s not as though he was doing it for shock value.
Great story about the invasive nature that’s pervading the country these days, from the government to insurance companies asking people to plug their own devices into the OBD ports in our cars.

View all my reviews

Tags: , , , ,

2 responses to “Just did my first book review on Goodreads”

  1. justinawilliams says :

    A number of times that “I Write Like” thingy has told me I write like Cory Doctorow, which I find slightly odd from what I know. Of course it’s also told me I write like almost everyone else there is at one point or other, including Shakespear. Hmm.

  2. Ryan says :

    Dost thou be a scribe of Shakespearean talent, then? Hear hear!
    I haven’t tried the “I write like” feature, but you’ve got me interested. I’ll have to check that out!

Leave a Reply

