Sexless Reproduction: coming to a back seat near you?

I saw an article on another blogger’s site here about stem cells and sexless fertilization, and it made me think of a movie- Demolition Man, with Sly and Wes Snipes. Stop laughing- we’ve all seen it, though many deny it.  I posted this response to his site as well, but figured that’s what my blog is for, so I should really be posting it here, you know?
The point I’m making was when Huxley was explaining how the world had changed: everything that’s not good for you is bad, and thus, illegal. Chocolate, booze, salt, fat, sugar, etc etc. It was the ideal of a well-intentioned idea that was taken WAAYYYY too far.
I’m starting to think that the dystopian futures of all the novels I’ve read aren’t really that far off from potentially happening. You can check out this article below, a single example among many of a school lunch policy that’s gone too far. Short version- not only is the menu restricted, but calorie count is mandated based on age.

http://www.foxnews.com/health/2012/09/18/high-school-students-boycott-school-cafeteria-over-new-lunch-restrictions/

At what point is personal responsibility supplanted by somebody who’s seemingly been deemed capable of making our decisions for us? There’s the example at the beginning of this post about sexless fertilization. Why not mandate that sex is illegal? It’s messy, awkward, results in funny noises and dry cleaning bills, STDs, and the cast of Jersey Shore. Why not require all pregnancies be conducted via a lab and insemination? That’s where the Demolition Man reference comes in, where she explains that fluids are sterilized, verified, and essentially deemed acceptable before the egg is fertilized and implanted.
Why stop there, then? Regulate our diets, tell us what we can watch on TV, what kind of car we can drive, how many kids we can have, put mood stabilizers in our water, etc. All have seen time in our popular fiction, and let’s be honest, can you really tell me you can’t see somebody trying to enforce some of these in the near future?
I firmly believe it’s my choice how I lead my life. We’re a healthy family, we value education and try to set a good example. But if I wanted to smoke and not work out, that’s my right, isn’t it? If I wanted to eat a large fry and Big Mac every day for lunch, I should be able to. I’d have to deal with the consequences then, because it’s not McDonalds’ fault that they are selling the food; its my fault if I can’t control myself and I eat there all the time.
Time to take back some personal responsibility in this country. Stop suing over everything, expecting others to raise your kids, and take charge of your life.
Because if you don’t, the government just might tell you you’re going to be implanted with twin boys when you go for your fertilization, and there’s nothing you’ll be able to do about it.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a comment